2015 Award Winners HOST OF THE YEAR 2015

Síle Gorman, Gorman's Clifftop House, Dingle, Co Kerry

Síle Gorman, Gorman's Clifftop House, Dingle, Co Kerry

We should never be complacent about how others see us, but each time a visitor satisfaction survey is published the results are the same, with Ireland’s wonderful scenery (still impressive, despite our best efforts in recent years) and the warmth and friendliness of the people coming up trumps every time. And, as our Host of the Year proves on a daily basis, when it is right, Irish hospitality really is unique.

Beautifully situated near Smerwick Harbour on the Slea Head scenic drive and Dingle Way walking route, Sile and Vincent Gorman’s guesthouse is, as they say themselves “just a great place to relax and unwind”. Natural materials and warm colours are a feature throughout the house, generous use of the local Louis Mulcahy pottery gives pride of place, open fires create a welcoming laid-back atmosphere, and all of the very comfortably appointed bedrooms have sea or mountain views…

Everything about the house is an expression of the way the Gormans feel about their business and their guests - and, most importantly, they are warmly welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. You may not see too much of Vincent, as he is often busy in the kitchen, but Sile is a quietly effective powerhouse of hospitality, not only making sure that guests are comfortable and enjoying this lovely house and restaurant, but also advising on everything they need to know in the area.

All guests get the loan of a guide book and ordnance survey map during their stay, and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that Kerry - and particularly the Dingle peninsula - will have happy associations when they leave.

And that includes an excellent breakfast that will set you up for a day of exploration. Gorman’s - which was our Guesthouse of the Year in 2002 and winner of the “Just Ask!” Restaurant of the month in September 2011, is a place with real heart - and Sile, in particular, is an embodiment of that philosophy.

Show me all 2015 Award Winners